20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

To Defy a King

$22.99

Ships to United States.

View Shipping Details

Overview

ROMANTIC NOVELIST'S ASSOCIATION'S HISTORICAL NOVEL OF THE YEAR

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around."—Historical Novels Review

The fifth book in bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick's William Marshal series, To Defy is King is a riveting historical novel of family, loyalty and betrayal, featuring the daughter of medieval England's Greatest Knight.

The spirited daughter of England's greatest knight, Mahelt Marshal, lives a privileged medieval life. But when her beloved father falls out with the volatile and dangerous King John, her world is shattered. The king takes her brothers hostage and Mahelt's planned marriage to Hugh Bigod, heir to nobility, takes place sooner than she expected.

Mahelt and Hugh come to care for each other deeply, but Hugh's strict father clashes with the rebellious Mahelt. When more harsh demands from the British royalty threaten to tear the couple's lives apart, Mahelt finds herself facing her worst fears alone. Caught between the family she was born in and the family she married into, Mahelt is uncertain if she—or her marriage—will survive.

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, To Defy a King is an immersive novel of medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will take pleasure in this well-crafted story of a vibrant, noble woman in a tyrant's world.

More Novels of Elizabeth Chadwick's William Marshal:
The Greatest Knight
The Scarlet Lion
For the King's Favor
Templar Silks
To Defy a King

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.25 in x 8 in
  • Pages: 544

About the Author

"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here,"—USA Today.

Elizabeth Chadwick is the New York Times bestselling author of more than 20 historical novels, including The Greatest Knight, To Defy a King, Lady of the English, For the King's Favor, The Scarlet Lion, Shadows and Strongholds, and A Place Beyond Courage, five of which have been shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Awards. She is the author of The Summer Queen and The Winter Crown, the first two books in the Eleanor of Aquitaine trilogy. www.elizabethchadwick.com

Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:To Defy a King
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2021. All Rights Reserved.