20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

The Last Telegram

$19.99
April 2013 9781402279454

Ships to United States.

View Shipping Details

Overview

"Trenow’s first novel chronicles civilian life in England during the terrors of war while also weaving a beautifully moving love story. Reminiscent in tone and subject of Nicholas Spark’s The Notebook (1996) and Ian McEwan’s Atonement (2002), Lily’s tale will resonate with fans of each.”—BooklistOnline.com

We all make mistakes. Some we can fix.
But what happens when we can't?

Decades ago, as Nazi planes dominated the sky, Lily Verner made a terrible choice. She's tried to forget, but now an unexpected event pulls her back to the 1940s British countryside. She finds herself remembering the brilliant colors of the silk she helped to weave at her family's mill, the relentless pressure of the worsening war, and the kind of heartbreaking loss that stops time.

In this evocative novel of love and consequences, Lily finally confronts the disastrous decision that has haunted her all these years. The Last Telegram uncovers the surprising truth about how the stories we weave about our lives are threaded with truth, guilt, and forgiveness.

"Sparked my interest from the start...charming."—Sharon Knoth, Between the Covers, Harbor Springs, MI

"This book will easily appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and I can see it quickly becoming a favorite of book clubs."—Billie Bloebaum, Powell's Books

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: 416
"The Last Telegram is perfect. I was captured by the first page. This is a story I am sure I will read over and over. " — A Novel Review
"It is a moving and emotional book, but there is also much to learn from it such as the silk and the time period of World War II. 5 stars, hands down. " — A TiffyFit's Reading Corner
"Trenow's first novel chronicles civilian life in England during the terrors of war while also weaving a beautifully moving love story. Reminiscent in tone and subject of Nicholas Spark's The Notebook (1996) and Ian McEwan's Atonement (2002), Lily's tale will resonate with fans of each." — BooklistOnline.com
"Such an amazing novel, but let me warn you, keep a box of tissues handy for this one during the last few chapters because you will definitely need them." — Chick Lit +
" I was fascinated with the details about silk manufacture and the part these silk weavers played for the war effort.

5 out of 5 for me! Onto my Top reads for 2013 list." — DizzyC's Little Book Blog
"There are precious few authors who can boast having brought me to tears, but thanks to her powerfully emotive debut, The Last Telegram, Liz Trenow can count herself among them." — Flashlight Commentary
"If you are interested in the historical background to this story, and in the process of weaving, then I can highly recommend Liz Trenow's The Last Telegram. For me, it was a fascinating read." — Helena Fairfax
"A remarkable story of inconsolable heartbreak, first love, and forgiveness, The Last Telegram will surely leave an indelible impression on all who read it." — Historical Novels Review
"The author, who has transitioned from journalistic writing to fiction, has written a stunning debut novel, which I found atmospheric, emotional, and satisfying." — Library of Clean Reads
"If you are looking for a romantic read that has plenty of poignancy and emotion then I think this is one you will enjoy" — LindyLouMac's Book Reviews
"The Last Telegram is a novel about love, regret, friendship and love that readers won't soon forget. As summer draws near, keep this book in mind for your time at the beach or for an upcoming book club selection." — Literate Housewife
"It's well researched, contains characters you care about and brings a tear to the eye. What more do you want from a piece of historical fiction?" — Novelicious.com
"It will pull on your heartstrings, and like any good book, will make you think about what you might have done in the same situations." — Readin and Dreamin
"Fans of 'The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society' will enjoy this read." — The Baking Bookworm
"I always enjoy learning something when I read a book, especially a historical read, and this book taught me a few things." — The Banking Bookworm
"I was totally captivated by this novel and didn't want to put it down. The love story element is dramatic and engaging, but there is much more to this story. " — Today I'm Reading
"The Last Telegram is a delightful read, and fans of fiction set during the period will love Lily's story. I know I did, and I look forward to more from Liz Trenow." — drey's library
"This stunning debut glows with the fervor and intensity of what life must have been like for civilians in World War II England. Trenow's firsthand knowledge of the generations-old silk-weaving business provides an enlightening backdrop. The novel is worthy of comparison to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society; readers will love it. STARRED Review" — Library Journal
"Trenow has given us a treasure, and readers will well look forward to her next book." — The Chicago Book Review
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Last Telegram
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2021. All Rights Reserved.