20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

Death in Captivity

A Second World War Mystery

$14.99

Ships to United States, Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico and 4 other countries.

View Shipping Details

Overview

The next installment in the British Library Crime Classics series! Mystery crime fiction written in the Golden Age of Murder

"Any book by Michael Gilbert is a treat" —Daily Telegraph

A man is found dead in an escape tunnel beneath an Italian prisoner-of-war camp. Did he die in an accidental collapse—or was this murder? Captain Henry 'Cuckoo' Goyles, master tunneller and amateur detective, takes up the case.

This classic locked-room mystery with a closed circle of suspects is woven together with a thrilling story of escape from the camp, as the Second World War nears its endgame and the British prisoners prepare to flee into the Italian countryside.

Perfect for readers of Sophie Hannah and Louise Penny!

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.25 in x 8 in
  • Pages: 272

About the Author

Michael Gilbert (1912-2006) was a founding member of the Crime Writers’ Association. He wrote thrillers, police procedurals and espionage novels that rank among the highest and most varied achievements of British crime writing in the second half of the twentieth century.
Martin Edwards
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Death in Captivity
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2021. All Rights Reserved.