20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

The Far End of Happy

$14.99
Published: May 2015
SKU: 9781492604952

Ships worldwide

View Shipping Details

Overview

Twelve tense hours, three women, and the suicide standoff that turns one family's little piece of heaven into a scene from hell

Ronnie Farnham's husband is supposed to move out today. But when Jeff pulls into the driveway drunk, with a shotgun in the front seat, she realizes nothing about the day will go as planned.

The next few hours spiral down in a flash, unlike the slow disintegration of their marriage—and whatever part of that painful unraveling is Ronnie's fault, not much else matters now but these moments. Her family's lives depend on the choices she will make—but is what's best for her best for everyone?

Based on a real event from the author's life, The Far End of Happy is a chilling contemporary novel. Fans of Mary Kubica, Diane Chamberlin, and Rosalind Noonan will be on the edge of their seats during this story of one troubled man, the family that loves him, and the suicide standoff that will change them all forever.

What reviewers are saying about The Far End of Happy

"This novel is the very definition of a page-turner as it follows a twelve hour stand-off between a man threatening suicide and the police."—Huffington Post

"This title is based on the author's experience with a standoff involving her husband, which adds real, raw, emotion to the plot. Framing the novel within a 12-hour period keeps the pages turning"—Library Journal

"…a heartbreaking story packed with tension and brimming with humanity."—Lori Nelson Spielman, #1 international bestselling author of The Life List

"A compelling read, an unflinching exploration of one of life's most inexplicable horrors."—New York Journal of Books

"Kathryn Craft keeps the tension edge-of-your-seat suspenseful in The Far End of Happy…"— Kate Moretti, author of the New York Times bestselling Thought I Knew You, and Binds That Tie

"A complex and gripping story of broken hearts, lives, and marriages that will tear you apart from beginning to end."—Steena Holmes, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Memory Child and Finding Emma

"An incredibly honest and courageous exploration of a marriage torn apart by neglect and threats of suicide."—Mary Kubica, author of The Good Girl

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: 368
"This title is based on the author's experience with a standoff involving her husband, which adds real, raw, emotion to the plot. Framing the novel within a 12-hour period keeps the pages turning" — Library Journal
"This novel is the very definition of a page-turner as it follows a twelve hour stand-off between a man threatening suicide and the police. Told from the alternating perspectives of his wife, his mother and his mother-in-law, the past is woven in with the present until the shattering conclusion." — Huffington Post
"A compelling read, an unflinching exploration of one of life's most inexplicable horrors...Craft is a talented storyteller, and the most important decision she has made with this novel is to provide an attitude of compassion for every character. Her narrative carries us through to the end of this very horrible day as it simultaneously pulls us into the minds and hearts of the characters. We experience the terror, regret, anger, and sorrow of each family member. It is the strength of each of the women characters that knits the story together, as it must have been that same strength that pulled the family through such a terrible time." — New York Journal of Books
"This book will keep your attention 100%...Kathryn Craft has woven a book that will keep you turning pages and keep you on the edge of your seat throughout, then on the last page, make you think." — Read Along With Sue
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Far End of Happy
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2022. All Rights Reserved.