20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

The Hidden Thread

A Novel

$15.99
May 2017 9781492637516

Ships to United States.

View Shipping Details

Overview

"[A] vivid historical tapestry, depicting both the silk trade and the silk riots in eighteenth-century England."—Booklist

New York Times bestselling author Liz Trenow presents The Hidden Thread, a breathtaking novel about the intricate craft of silk and the heartbreak of forbidden love.

When Anna Butterfield's mother dies, she's sent to live with her uncle, a silk merchant in Victorian London, to make a good match and provide for her father and sister.

There, she meets Henri, a French immigrant and apprentice hoping to become a master weaver. But Henri, born into a lower class, becomes embroiled in the silk riots that break out as weavers protest for a fair wage.

Caught between her family and her star-crossed romance, Anna must decide what it means to be a woman in a time of revolution.

For fans of Hazel Gaynor and Pam Jenoff, acclaimed historical fiction author Liz Trenow weaves a luminous tale of class struggle and star-crossed love.

Also by Liz Trenow:
The Forgotten Seamstress
The Last Telegram

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: 384
"Trenow (The Forgotten Seamstress, 2014) interweaves several narrative strands into a vivid historical tapestry, depicting both the silk trade and the silk riots in eighteenth-century England." — Booklist
"In this compelling story set at the time of the silk riots in the Age of Enlightenment, her knowledge of cloth and color shines throughout." — Historical Novels Review
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Hidden Thread
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2021. All Rights Reserved.