20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

If the Creek Don't Rise

A Novel

$15.99
Published: August 2017
SKU: 9781492647454

Ships worldwide

View Shipping Details

Overview

"[A] striking debut..."—BUSTLE

He's gonna be sorry he ever messed with me and Loretta Lynn.

Sadie Blue has been a wife for fifteen days. That's long enough to know she should have never hitched herself to Roy Tupkin, even with the baby.

Sadie is desperate to make her own mark on the world, but in remote Appalachia, a ticket out of town is hard to come by and hope often gets stomped out. When a stranger sweeps into Baines Creek and knocks things off kilter, Sadie finds herself with an unexpected lifeline...if she can just figure out how to use it.

Fans of The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek will love this intimate insight into a fiercely proud, tenacious community and relish the voices of the forgotten folks of Baines Creek.

With a colorful cast of characters and a flair for the Southern Gothic, If the Creek Don't Rise is a debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit.

"Like Daniel Woodrell's 'hillbilly noir' novel Winter's Bone…[If the Creek Don't Rise] unfolds like a dark, gripping alt-country ballad."—Yahoo!

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: 320
"Writing with a deep knowledge of the enduring myths of Appalachia, Weiss vividly portrays real people and sorrows. A strong, formidable novel for readers of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy." — Library Journal
"...masterful use of language....Weiss' novel is a great suggestion for fans of the Big Stone Gap books, by Adriana Trigiani, and Mitford series, by Jan Karon." — Booklist
"Weiss' tale is a beguiling, compelling read." — Kirkus Reviews
"...tender but powerful debut...highlighting Weiss's considerable characterization skills." — Publishers Weekly
"[A] striking debut." — BUSTLE

"...fascinating, gripping... an immersive and deeply emotional reading experience — especially satisfying for readers who love richly drawn characters and a strong sense of place" — NPR

"A fascinating, gripping portrait of the interconnected and often unseen ways people help each other... an immersive and deeply emotional reading experience — especially satisfying for readers who love richly drawn characters and a strong sense of place." — NPR
"Like Daniel Woodrell's 'hillbilly noir' novel Winter's Bone - adapted into a tremendous backwoods thriller starring a then unknown Jennifer Lawrence - Leah Weiss's Appalachia-set fiction debut unfolds like a dark, gripping alt-country ballad. " — Yahoo!
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:If the Creek Don't Rise
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2022. All Rights Reserved.