20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

The Heirs of Anthony Boucher

A History of Mystery Fandom


Ships worldwide

View Shipping Details


The ultimate collection for mystery fans

Following in the footsteps of those devoted to science fiction and works about Sherlock Holmes, general mystery fandom emerged in 1967 and has since thrived and become an international phenomenon. With its irresistible combination of puzzle-solving and the examination of the dark underbelly of humanity, crime fiction continues to fascinate and delight millions of readers. Ranging the gamut from cozy mysteries to fast-paced thrillers, crime fiction contains a nearly endless range of books… and, of course, a similarly diverse group of readers who devour them.

Out of this rabid readership, countless websites, nearly one hundred fan magazines, and dozens of conferences celebrating mysteries have arisen to bring authors, readers, and fans together. This revised and updated edition of The Heirs of Anthony Boucher is an illuminating look at the history of mystery fandom and its effect on readers across the globe. Complete with anecdotes, personal reminiscences, facts, and pictures, it tells the story of the mystery community's publications and conventions, the fans who produce them, and the future of mystery fandom in years to come.

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.50 in
  • Pages: 416

About the Author

Marv Lachman has been reading mysteries since 1943, when he was eleven. He won Mystery Writers of America’s Edgar Award for Best Critical/Biographical Work of 1976, for Encyclopedia of Mystery and Detection (with co-authors Chris Steinbrunner, Otto Penzler, and Charles Shibuk). He was nominated for the same award in 1994 for A Reader’s Guide to the American Novel of Detection, which was also nominated for an Agatha, an Anthony, and a Macavity Award. Lachman won the Macavity Award in 2001 for The American Regional Mystery (2000), which was also nominated for an Anthony and an Agatha.

Lachman was given a Raven Award from the Mystery Writers of America in 1997, for his fan-related activities. MWA’s Raven is a "special award given for outstanding achievement in the mystery field outside the realm of creative writing." In 2001 he received the first Don Sandstrom Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement in Mystery Fandom. In 2013 the Bouchercon Board of Directors gave him the David Thompson Special Service Award for his "exemplary life-long service to the mystery and crime fiction community." In 2019 Marv is attending his fortieth Bouchercon.

The first edition of The Heirs of Anthony Boucher (2005) won the Anthony Award at Bouchercon in 2006. Marv’s most recent book was The Villainous Stage (2014), a history of crime plays in New York and London. He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico, with his wife, Carol.
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Heirs of Anthony Boucher
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2021. All Rights Reserved.