20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

The Engineer's Wife

A Novel of the Brooklyn Bridge

$16.99
Published: February 2021
SKU: 9781728226255
Rating:
100 % of 100

Ships to United States, Canada, Philippines, Puerto Rico and 4 other countries.

View Shipping Details

Overview

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

“Historical fiction at its finest.”—Andrea Bobotis, author of The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt

She built a monument for all time. Then she was lost in its shadow. Discover the fascinating woman who helped design and construct the Brooklyn Bridge. Perfect for fans of The Other Einstein.

Emily Roebling refuses to live conventionally—she knows who she is and what she wants, and she's determined to make change. But then her husband asks the unthinkable: give up her dreams to make his possible.

Emily's fight for women's suffrage is put on hold, and her life transformed when her husband Washington Roebling, the Chief Engineer of the Brooklyn Bridge, is injured on the job. Untrained for the task, but under his guidance, she assumes his role, despite stern resistance and overwhelming obstacles. But as the project takes shape under Emily's direction, she wonders whose legacy she is building—hers, or her husband's. As the monument rises, Emily's marriage, principles, and identity threaten to collapse. When the bridge finally stands finished, will she recognize the woman who built it?

Based on the true story of an American icon, The Engineer's Wife delivers an emotional portrait of a woman transformed by a project of unfathomable scale, which takes her into the bowels of the East River, suffragette riots, the halls of Manhattan's elite, and the heady, freewheeling temptations of P.T. Barnum. The biography of a husband and wife determined to build something that lasts—even at the risk of losing each other.

Other Bestselling Historical Fiction from Sourcebooks Landmark:
The Only Woman in the Room by Marie Benedict
Carnegie’s Maid by Marie Benedict
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson
Sold on a Monday by Kristina McMorris

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: 384
"Wood's satisfying historical feels true to its era yet powerfully relevant to women's lives today." — PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
"This important work of historical fiction brings to life the strength and resolve of a nineteenth-century woman overshadowed by men and overlooked by history books." — BOOKLIST
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Engineer's Wife
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2022. All Rights Reserved.