20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

Nobody's Sweetheart Now

The First Lady Adelaide Mystery

As low as $18.99
Published: November 2018
Published: November 2018
Published: November 2018
Published: November 2018
SKU: SBCNFG1119
SKU: 9781464211119
SKU: 9781464210716
SKU: 9781464210723

Ships worldwide

View Shipping Details

Overview

The first mystery book in a rollicking new historical cozy series! When Lady Adelaide's dinner party is visited by lady death, she'll have to partner with the irksome spirit of her dead husband to crack the case…

"A lively debut filled with local color, red herrings, both sprightly and spritely characters, a smidgen of social commentary, and a climactic surprise."—Kirkus Reviews

A delightful English cozy series begins in August 1924. Lady Adelaide Compton has recently (and satisfactorily) interred her husband, Major Rupert Charles Cressleigh Compton, hero of the Somme, in the family vault in the village churchyard.

Rupert died by smashing his Hispano-Suiza on a Cotswold country road while carrying a French mademoiselle in the passenger seat. With the house now Addie's, needed improvements in hand, and a weekend house party underway, how inconvenient of Rupert to turn up! Not in the flesh, but in—actually, as a—spirit. Rupert has to perform a few good deeds before becoming welcomed to heaven—or, more likely, thinks Addie, to hell.

Before Addie can convince herself she's not completely lost her mind, a murder disrupts her careful seating arrangement. Which of her twelve houseguests is a killer? Her mother, the formidable Dowager Marchioness of Broughton? Her sister Cecilia, the born-again vegetarian? Her childhood friend and potential lover, Lord Lucas Waring? Rupert has a solid alibi as a ghost and an urge to detect. A debaucher in life and an annoyance in death, Addie knows she can't leave Rupert to solve the murders of her sweet old gardener and a naked neighbor by himself.

Enter Inspector Devenand Hunter from the Yard, an Anglo-Indian who is not going to let some barmy society beauty witnessed talking to herself derail his investigation. Something very peculiar is afoot at Compton Court and he's going to get to the bottom of it—or go as mad as its mistress trying.

The Lady Adelaide Mysteries:

Nobody's Sweetheart Now (Book 1)

Who's Sorry Now? (Book 2)

Just Make Believe (Book 3)

Product Details

  • Size: Hardcover & Paperback - 5.50 in x 8.50 in
  • Pages: Hardcover - 250, Paperback - 256, Paperback Large Print - 368
"A lively debut filled with local color, red herrings, both sprightly and spritely characters, a smidgen of social commentary, and a climactic surprise." — Kirkus Reviews
"Set in England in 1924, this promising series launch...is...frothy fun." — Publishers Weekly
"Nobody's Sweetheart Now is a clever, charming mystery that perfectly captures 1920s society...sure to appeal to fans of Ashley Weaver or Rhys Bowen. Likable characters, a well-paced plot and an intriguing detective make Nobody's Sweetheart Now an excellent first entry in this delightful mystery series from Maggie Robinson." — Shelf Awareness
"Nobody's Sweetheart Now is a clever, charming mystery that perfectly captures 1920s society. Bored debutantes and rich bankers mingle in Lady Addie's world, which is sure to appeal to fans of Ashley Weaver or Rhys Bowen. Likable characters, a well-paced plot and an intriguing detective make Nobody's Sweetheart Now an excellent first entry in this delightful mystery series." — Shelf Awareness for Readers
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Nobody's Sweetheart Now
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2023. All Rights Reserved.