20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

The Mystery of Mrs. Christie

A Novel

As low as $16.99
December 2020 SBCNFG2721

Ships to United States, Canada, Philippines, Puerto Rico and 4 other countries.

View Shipping Details

Overview

Available late December, 2020!

"A deft, fascinating page-turner replete with richly drawn characters and plot twists that would stump Hercule Poirot." —Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network, The Huntress, and The Rose Code

The New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room returns with a thrilling reconstruction of one of the most notorious events in literary history: Agatha Christie's mysterious 11-day disappearance in 1926.

In December 1926, Agatha Christie goes missing. Investigators find her empty car on the edge of a deep, gloomy pond, the only clues some tire tracks nearby and a fur coat left in the car -- strange for a frigid night. Her World War I veteran husband and her daughter have no knowledge of her whereabouts, and England unleashes an unprecedented manhunt to find the up-and-coming mystery author. Eleven days later, she reappears, just as mysteriously as she disappeared, claiming amnesia and providing no explanations for her time away.

The puzzle of those missing eleven days has persisted. With her trademark historical fiction exploration into the shadows of the past, acclaimed author Marie Benedict brings us into the world of Agatha Christie, imagining why such a brilliant woman would find herself at the center of such murky historical mysteries.

What is real, and what is mystery? What role did her unfaithful husband play, and what was he not telling investigators?

Agatha Christie novels have withstood the test of time, due in no small part to Christie’s masterful storytelling and clever mind that may never be matched, but Agatha Christie’s untold history offers perhaps her greatest mystery of all.

Fans of The Secrets We Kept, The Lions of Fifth Avenue, and The Alice Network will enjoy this riveting saga of literary history, suspense, and love gone wrong.

Product Details

  • Size: Hardcover & Paperback - 6 in x 9 in
  • Pages: Hardcover - 288, Paperback - 336

"It's an empowering and wonderful tribute... The Mystery of Mrs. Christie reads like a modern domestic thriller in the vein of "Gone Girl" and "The Girl on the Train." It's also a nod to classic whodunits that channels Christie's talent for writing unsolvable mysteries packed with puzzles, red herrings and, most especially, unreliable narrators. Until the closing chapters, Benedict forces us to ask who is more credible: Agatha or Archie?" — The Washington Post

"[Marie Benedict] keeps the reader guessing: Which narrator is reliable? Who is the real villain? A compelling portrait of a marriage gone desperately sour." — Kirkus Reviews

"The clever premise here is that Christie vanished deliberately so as to ensnare Archie in a trap as payback for his infidelities... the story makes for good fun." — Publishers Weekly

"Mystery lovers, especially fans of Christie's works, as well as those who enjoy period pieces, will find this an engrossing fictional answer to a real historical mystery." — Library Journal

"Girl power advocates will find satisfaction in the solution she crafts to her man problem." — Booklist

"Benedict shines as a suspense writer." — Christian Science Monitor

"With elements of a classic mystery novel, The Mystery of Mrs. Christie is gripping, making it possible to believe that, with her real-life disappearance, Agatha Christie surpassed herself and pulled off the perfect, unsolvable mystery." — Foreword Reviews

"[A] gripping historical fiction tale of true mystery." — Good Morning America

"It's not a whodunit or even a whydunit, but a sort of how-the-hell-did-he-do-it? As Christie's first and best-known detective, Hercule Poirot, might say: Patience. All will be revealed." — The Los Angeles Times

"[A] clever reconstruction of Agatha Christie's mysterious 11-day disappearance in 1926." — E! News

Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Mystery of Mrs. Christie
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2021. All Rights Reserved.