20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

Publish This Book

The Unbelievable True Story of How I Wrote, Sold and Published This Very Book

$19.99

Ships worldwide

View Shipping Details

Overview

From the author of Ohio (Best Books of Summer 2018 Selection in Time, Vulture, and the New York Post) comes a brilliant, hilarious, and deeply touching memoir that blows the roof off the genre.

Fed up with the complicated quest of trying to get a book published, Stephen Markley decided to cut to the chase and simply write a memoir about trying to publish a book—this book, to be precise. It’s the most “meta” experiment he’s ever untaken, and like a Mobius strip in book form, the concept is circular, self-indulgent, and—maybe, possibly, hopefully—brilliant.

For fans of Dave Eggers and David Sedaris, Publish This Book is the modern day saga of an idealistic, ambitious, audacious, unyielding young writer who is tired of waiting his turn. Like any work that claims gleefully to be about nothing, it's really about pretty much everything—sex, drugs, politics, pop-culture, ex-girlfriends and sexy vampires. From the hope of early adulthood to the rage of life’s many (unavoidable) disappointments, it is a story of overcoming the obstacles and discovering a happy ending at last.

Most importantly, it’s a story that will inspire readers to find their true voice in their work and in their life.

Praise for Stephen Markley:

"Markley seems clever and funny, but it may be his "fire" that ultimately makes him worthwhile." — Literary Chicago

“Compelling, emotionally resonant passages . . ." — Publishers Weekly

"Markley is a knockout storyteller" — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.50 in
  • Pages: 480

About the Author

Stephen Markley is an author, screenwriter, and journalist. A graduate of the Iowa Writer's Workshop, Markley's previous books include the memoir Publish This Book: The Unbelievable True Story of How I Wrote, Sold, and Published This Very Book, and the travelogue Tales of Iceland. He lives in Los Angeles.
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Publish This Book
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2021. All Rights Reserved.