20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

My Kind of Crazy

$10.99
Published: April 2016
SKU: 9781492631767

Ships worldwide

View Shipping Details

Overview

Everybody needs someone who gets their crazy

Hank Kirby can't catch a break. He doesn't mean to screw up. It just happens. Case in point: his attempt to ask out the girl he likes literally goes up in flames when he spelled "prom" in sparklers on Amanda Carlisle's lawn...and nearly burns down her house, without ever asking her the big question.

Hank just wants to pretend the incident never happened. And he might've gotten away with it—except there is a witness.

Peyton Breedlove, brooding loner and budding pyromaniac, saw the whole thing, and she blackmails Hank into an unusual friendship. Sure, Hank may be headed for his biggest disaster yet, but it's only when life falls apart that you can start piecing it back together.

"Funny, authentic, and, at turns, heartbreaking."—Jessi Kirby, author of Things We Know by Heart and Moonglass

"I had so much fun reading this book."—Adi Alsaid, author of Never Always Sometimes and Let's Get Lost

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: 336
"A sensitive look at two teens with complicated histories learning to build a future together. " — Kirkus Reviews
"Reul crafts a romantic hero who is valiant, sensitive, self-deprecating, and a little confused about which girl he wants to date...The road to romance between Hank and Peyton may be bumpy for them, but readers should find it entirely enjoyable." — Publishers Weekly
"With its offbeat characters and quirky romance, this first novel is sure to appeal to readers who enjoy Frank Portman, KL Going, Ned Vizzini, and Rainbow Rowell." — Booklist
"Robin Reul has created the perfect novel. From flawed, yet lovable, characters, to Hank's fresh voice, to a storyline so well plotted the ending is entirely satisfying, the book draws readers right in and doesn't let go. While telling Hank and Peyton's story, this book also imparts broader life lessons, much in the same vein as Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why and Jerry Spinelli's Stargirl. It isn't preachy, but challenges readers to see people, and their problems, in a different way simply by introducing them to great characters who also happen to be dealing with great obstacles. Very highly recommended." — San Francisco Book Review
"This first-time author has deftly captured what it is like to be a supposedly "average" kid trying to gain the attention of an out-of-his-league girl... The characters, even the supporting ones, avoid stereotype, and their dialogue is authentic and interesting. Readers will find a bit of themselves in the protagonists' actions and emotions." — VOYA Magazine
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:My Kind of Crazy
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2022. All Rights Reserved.