20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

Prelude for Lost Souls

$17.99
Published: August 2020
SKU: 9781492667377

Ships worldwide

View Shipping Details

Overview

"Ghost story, love story, and mystery in equal measure, Helene Dunbar's Prelude for Lost Souls is filled with unforgettable characters who reveal the many ways a life can be haunted. Perfect for fans of The Raven Boys."—Lisa Maxwell, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Magician series

From acclaimed author Helene Dunbar comes the start of a spellbinding young adult series about a small town filled with spiritualists and one boy who wants out, perfect for readers who want teen ghost books and fans of Maggie Stiefvater, Maureen Johnson, and Nova Ren Suma.

In the town of St. Hilaire, most make their living by talking to the dead. In the summer, the town gates open to tourists seeking answers while all activity is controlled by The Guild, a sinister ruling body that sees everything.

Dec Hampton has lived there his entire life, but ever since his parents died, he's been done with it. He knows he has to leave before anyone has a chance to stop him.

His best friend Russ won't be surprised when Dec leaves—but he will be heartbroken. Russ is a good medium, maybe even a great one. He's made sacrifices for his gift and will do whatever he can to gain entry to The Guild, even embracing dark forces and contacting the most elusive ghost in town.

But when the train of Annie Krylova, the piano prodigy whose music has been Dec's main source of solace, breaks down outside of town, it sets off an unexpected chain of events. And in St. Hilaire, there are no such things as coincidences.

Perfect for readers looking for:

  • ghost town books
  • young adult lgbt books
  • atmospheric stories
  • gifts for teen girls 16-18

Praise for Prelude for Lost Souls:
"Dunbar invokes small-town intrigue and plentiful atmosphere with this haunting, romantic tale."—Publishers Weekly
"A quietly compelling story."—Kirkus Reviews
"Mesmerizing and haunting, Dunbar invites readers into a world of family secrets, anxious ghosts and a society's ruthless grasp for power that will leave you wanting more."—The Nerd Daily

Also by Helene Dunbar:
We Are Lost and Found

Product Details

  • Hardcover
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: 384
"Working to unravel the mysteries that drew them together, three teenagers find unexpected answers in a town where not only the dead are haunted." — Foreword
"Dunbar [manages] to capture grief and loss in a way that turned a paranormal book into a novel centered on human experience and struggle." — The Young Folks
"Fans of ghost stories and mysteries alike will enjoy following the unlikely threads Dunbar weaves into spooky surprises in this dark novel, upending many traditional tropes along the way. In St. Hilaire, it's the living you have to watch out for, not the abundant dead." — Tina Chambers, Chapter16
"[A] charming novel perfect for a lazy weekend. It's moody and melodramatic, the kind of story that makes you think of falling leaves and cozy sweaters and waning friendships and new lovers and finally learning to let go." — Tor.com
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Prelude for Lost Souls
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2022. All Rights Reserved.