20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

As You Wish

As low as $10.99
Published: N/A
Published: January 2018
Published: December 2018
SKU: SBCNFG2312
SKU: 9781492642312
SKU: 9781492668060

Ships worldwide

View Shipping Details

Overview

From bestselling author Chelsea Sedoti comes a thought-provoking contemporary young adult book about a small desert town filled with Mojave magic where everyone gets to make a wish on their eighteenth birthday. If you could make one wish that was guaranteed to come true—what would you wish for?

Rules for Wishing:

  1. Never let an outsider find out about wishing. (Zip your lips and throw away the key.)
  2. Wishes that would impact the world are off limits (i.e. no bringing back the dinosaurs).
  3. Do no harm. (Murder = no bueno.)
  4. No time travel. (What's done is done, pal.)
  5. No bringing back the dead. (Come on. You've seen what happens in THE WALKING DEAD.)
  6. NEVER BREAK THE RULES. (Seriously. We mean it. See Rule #7.)
  7. There are always consequences.

Most of Eldon's classmates have had their wishes picked out for months, even years. Not Eldon. He's seen how wishing has hurt the people around him. His parents' marriage is strained, his sister is a virtual ghost in their house, his ex-girlfriend is dating his ex-friend...where does he even begin?

One thing is for sure: Eldon has only twenty-six days to figure it out—and the rest of his life to live with the consequences.

Perfect for:

  • Readers who like magical realism YA
  • Fans of John Green, Jandy Nelson, and The Sun is Also a Star
  • Educators and parents who want to start conversations about consequences
  • People looking for young adult books best sellers

Also by Chelsea Sedoti:
It Came from the Sky
The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

Praise for As You Wish:
"Heartbreaking, other times hilarious, but always thought-provoking. An unexpectedly affecting book that will have readers pondering what they would wish for if given the chance."—Booklist
"Poignant… Will inspire readers to explore the question: if you could have one wish, what would it be?"—Kirkus
"An engrossing read, fantastical and believable at the same time."—Horn Book Magazine
"Depending on the reader, this novel offers different levels of intensity, starting with the everyday sort of teen troubles, progressing to difficult family dynamics, and reaching up to the ethical dilemmas wishing can create—all while being easy to read and hard to put down."—VOYA

Product Details

  • Size: Hardcover & Paperback - 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: Hardcover - 432, Paperback - 448
"Depending on the reader, this novel offers different levels of intensity, starting with the everyday sort of teen troubles, progressing to difficult family dynamics, and reaching up to the ethical dilemmas wishing can create—all while being easy to read and hard to put down." — VOYA Magazine, Perfect Ten
"Poignant... Will inspire readers to explore the question: if you could have one wish, what would it be" — Kirkus Reviews
"The countdown structure creates a natural hook, and Sedoti (The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett) makes good use of her what-if premise to give readers much to consider. She successfully captures the feelings of uncertainty that come with nascent adulthood, the desire to leave home, and waiting for one's life to begin." — Publishers Weekly
"The plot itself transcends Eldon's quest for a wish and becomes a study of human nature. This is a good story that includes a bit of romance, sports, friendship, family issues, and coming of age. A thoroughly engaging choice for readers of realistic fiction and magical realism." — School Library Journal
"Heartbreaking, other times hilarious, but always thought-provoking. An unexpectedly affecting book that will have readers pondering what they would wish for if given the chance." — Booklist
"Chelsea Sedoti (The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett) masterfully crafts a tale that draws together the stories of an entire town's residents while focusing on Eldon and his friends. Through Eldon's wrenching struggles, we see how the possibility of getting what you think you want is fraught with complications. Despite the magical elements, Eldon's actions and longings ring true, reminding us that every day serves up life-altering choices, both large and small.

" — BookPage
"The premise makes for a fascinating set of what-ifs that aren't resolved by Eldon's final decision; readers will want to consider further the larger questions raised here about the role risk, selfishness, free will, uncertain outcomes, and unintended consequences play in happiness." — Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"An engrossing read, fantastical and believable at the same time." — Horn Book Magazine
"The book provides an interesting and original premise that will open up some great discussion about what students might wish for and what the ramifications of those wishes might be." — School Library Connection
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:As You Wish
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2022. All Rights Reserved.