20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

Reverie

$17.99
Published: December 2019
SKU: 9781492682660

Ships worldwide

View Shipping Details

Overview

A B&N’s YA Book Club Pick * Walmart Buzz Pick * Indie Next Pick * Book of the Month Club YA Box

A “joyously, riotously queer” (Kirkus) young adult fantasy from debut author Ryan La Sala, Reverie is a wildly imaginative story about dreams becoming reality, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Laini Taylor.

A few weeks ago, Kane Montgomery was in an accident that robbed him of his memory. The only thing he knows for certain is that the police found him half-dead in the river. The world as he knows it feels different—reality seems different. And when strange things start happening around him, Kane isn’t sure where to turn.

And then three of his classmates show up, claiming to be his friends and the only people who can tell him what’s truly going on. Kane doesn’t know what to believe or who he can trust. But as he and the others are dragged into increasingly fantastical dream worlds drawn from imagination, it becomes clear that there is dark magic at work. Nothing in Kane’s life is an accident, and only he can keep the world itself from unraveling.

Reverie is an intricate and compelling LGBT young adult book about the secret worlds we hide within ourselves and what happens when they become real.

Praise for Reverie:
"This outstanding debut novel will light readers' imaginations on fire...Imaginative, bold, and full of queer representation, this is a must-purchase for YA collections."—School Library Journal *STARRED REVIEW*
“This fantasy offers readers something wonderfully new and engaging...a gem of a novel that is as affirming as it is entertaining."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
“The story's many LGBTQ characters are prominently represented and powerfully nuanced."—Publishers Weekly
"A darkly imagined, riveting fantasy… thrilling."—Shelf Awareness
"Joyously, riotously queer... The themes of creating one's own reality and fighting against the rules imposed by the world you're born into will ring powerfully true for many young readers."—Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

  • Hardcover
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: 416
"I don't know that I've ever encountered a book quite like Reverie before. It wears its queerness and its narrative weirdness on its sleeve and it paints outside the genre box, even as it gleefully pulls tropes out of that same box and flings them around like confetti. It feels like something fresh and different, and I'll be fascinated to see if it leads the way for a new YA trend. Queer, dream-bending mystery fantasy may well be the next big thing, and I'm here for it!" — NPR.org

"Joyously, riotously queer... The themes of creating one's own reality and fighting against the rules imposed by the world you're born into will ring powerfully true for many young readers." — Kirkus Reviews

"Innovative... Featuring magic, monsters, and a drag queen sorceress, Reverie promises to open entirely new vistas in the world of LGBTQ fiction." — Goodreads Blog
"Stunning and terrifying to behold." — Hypable
"Powerful... [La Sala] is a model for what an authentic queer writer can be, and it comes through in his debut." — Medium
"[An] inclusive and dazzling debut." — POPSUGAR

"A spectacular, imaginative tale unlike anything you've read all year... You don't want to miss this book!" — Paste Magazine

"La Sala created a work that toys with fantasy — as in dreams contrasted with reality — and the fantasy genre itself, which for so long has had a narrow concept of who gets to be heroes. "Reverie" kicks open the doors to new voices, rainbow fire and all." — The ARTery (WBUR)
"Reverie is easy to fall in love with. La Sala is an exquisite wordsmith and he puts those talents on display as he crafts the intricacies of the reveries and the astonishment of the rainbow-colored magic battles. Reverie makes a strong, late-season case as one of the best young adult fantasies of the year." — Tor.com
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Reverie
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2022. All Rights Reserved.