20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr

A Novel

$15.99
Published: July 2017
SKU: 9781492649274

Ships to United States, Canada and Philippines.

View Shipping Details

Overview

"The inevitable comparisons to Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project (2013) and Julia Claiborne Johnson's Be Frank with Me (2016) are natural, but Ellie's authentic voice offers a fresh perspective on being different."—Booklist

Feel-good women's fiction that takes one very particular woman out of her comfort zone to learn the truth about her family and her place in the world.

Elvira Carr believes in rules. She also strongly believes in crisp schedules, clear guidelines, and taking people at face value. Not that the twenty-seven-year-old sees many people. After several unfortunate incidents, her overbearing mother keeps her at home.

But when her mother has a stroke and lands in a nursing home, Elvira is suddenly on her own, and the story she's always heard about her father starts to show some obvious holes. To help her navigate the puzzles of her changing world, she draws up seven ironclad rules and sets out to take charge of her life, her way.

An uplifting story full of courage, perseverance and curious charm, The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr, is fresh novel about finding your place for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman, The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion, and The Cactus by Sarah Haywood.

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: 400
"Debut novelist Maynard puts her background as a teacher of adults with learning difficulties to good effect in crafting this heartwarming coming-of-age story. Perfect for book clubs and for readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project and Julia Claiborne Johnson's Be Frank with Me." — Library Journal
"The inevitable comparisons to Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project (2013) and Julia Claiborne Johnson's Be Frank with Me (2016) are natural, but Ellie's authentic voice offers a fresh perspective on being different. " — Booklist
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2022. All Rights Reserved.