20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

Widowland

A Novel

$16.99
Published: August 2022
SKU: 9781728248448

Ships to United States, Canada, Philippines, Puerto Rico and 4 other countries.

View Shipping Details

Overview

"A compulsive, terrifying read."—Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code

For readers of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale comes a thrilling feminist dystopian novel set in an alternative history that terrifyingly imagines what a British alliance with Germany would look like if the Nazis had won WWII.

To control the past, they edited history. To control the future, they edited literature.

LONDON, 1953. Thirteen years have passed since England surrendered to the Nazis and formed a Grand Alliance with Germany. It was forced to adopt many of its oppressive ideologies, one of which was the strict classification of women into hierarchical groups based on the perceived value they brought to society.

Rose Ransom, a member of the privileged Geli class, remembers life from before the war but knows better than to let it show. She works for the Ministry of Culture, rewriting the classics of English literature to ensure there are no subversive thoughts that will give women any ideas.

Outbreaks of insurgency have been seen across the country with graffiti made up of seditious lines from forbidden works by women painted on public buildings. Suspicion has fallen on Widowland, the run-down slums where childless women over fifty have been banished. Rose is given the dangerous task of infiltrating Widowland to find the source of the rebellion before the Leader arrives in England for the Coronation ceremony of King Edward VIII and Queen Wallis.

Will Rose follow her instructions and uncover the criminals? Or will she fight for what she knows in her heart is right?

Praise for Widowland:

"A mind-bender of a novel about the power of literature to change minds. I loved it!" —Mark Sullivan, bestselling author of The Last Green Valley and Beneath a Scarlet Sky

"I rarely come across a book I can’t put down but I devoured this one." —Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author of two historical mystery series as well as several internationally bestselling historical novels

"An electrifying, Orwellian dystopia with a thrilling feminist twist." —Lara Prescott, New York Times bestselling author of The Secrets We Kept

"Tense, thought-provoking, and terrifying.” —Natalie Jenner, international bestselling author of The Jane Austen Society and Bloomsbury Girls

Reading Widowland as part of your next book club? Our free discussion guide is the perfect companion to the book, and will help you get the most out of your event. Included are discussion points and an interview with the author that will help guide you through the book. Download the guide now!

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: 432
No trade reviews are currently available for this product.
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Widowland
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2022. All Rights Reserved.