20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

Dinosaur Lady

The Daring Discoveries of Mary Anning, the First Paleontologist (Women in Science Biographies, Fossil Books for Kids, Feminist Picture Books, Dinosaur Gifts for Kids)

$17.99

Ships worldwide

View Shipping Details

Overview

A beautifully illustrated picture book biography of Mary Anning that will enlighten children about the discovery of the dinosaurs and the importance of female scientists, perfect for fans of The Girl Who Thought in Pictures

Mary Anning loved scouring the beach near her home in England for shells and fossils. She fearlessly climbed over crumbling cliffs and rocky peaks, searching for new specimens. One day, something caught Mary's eye.

Bones. Dinosaur Bones.

Mary's discoveries rocked the world of science and helped create a brand-new field of study: paleontology. But many people believed women couldn't be scientists, so Mary wasn't given the credit she deserved. Nevertheless, Mary kept looking and learning more, making discoveries that reshaped scientific beliefs about the natural world.

Educational backmatter includes a timeline of Mary Anning's life and lots of fantastic fossil facts!

The perfect choice for parents and teachers looking for:
  • Dinosaur books for kids 5-7 and kids books about fossils
  • Feminist picture books about historical women, and daring books for girls
  • Kids STEM books
  • Product Details

    • Hardcover
    • Size: 10 in x 10 in
    • Pages: 40

    About the Author

    Linda Skeers is the author of several critically acclaimed children's books. She also teaches picture book writing workshops, including sessions on writing humor for kids. She lives in Iowa. Visit her at www.lindaskeers.com.
    Write Your Own Review
    You're reviewing:Dinosaur Lady
    All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2021. All Rights Reserved.