20% OFF SITEWIDE** with code READ20

I'm Not Her

$12.99
Published: May 2011
SKU: 9781402256363

Ships worldwide

View Shipping Details

Overview

“For the first time in my life, I didn’t feel envy…”

Tess is the exact opposite of her beautiful, athletic sister. And that’s okay. Kristina is the sporty one, Tess is the smart one, and they each have their place. Until Kristina is diagnosed with cancer. Suddenly Tess is the center of the popular crowd, everyone eager for updates. There are senior boys flirting with her. But, the smiles of her picture perfect family are cracking and her sister could be dying. Now Tess has to fill a new role: the strong one. Because if she doesn’t hold it together, who will?

Janet Gurtler tests the bonds of sisterhood in this moving debut that readers of Jodi Picoult and Sarah Dessen will savor.

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Size: 5.50 in x 8.25 in
  • Pages: 304
"...subtle, believable, and satisfying. The author seamlessly develops complexity in all of the characters... Tess's journey is both rewarding and painful as she develops the courage to stand up to her parents to break them out of their denial and she begins to appreciate her own beauty and strength. This quick and heartbreaking read realistically shows how one person's illness affects an entire community." — School Library Journal
"Rich in characterization, Gurtler's novel wrestles with some serious issues and explores different means of coping (or escaping) yet manages not to be overwhelming or bleak. Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult, this is a strong debut that attempts to answer the question, What does it really mean to live?" — Booklist

"...powerful... A gripping read, Gurtler allows real life to prevail, avoiding the all-too-easy, "after-school special" ending many writers might have chosen. Major characters are well-developed, and even adults are portrayed in a realistic, although not always positive, light." — VOYA" — VOYA

"This is a really hard book to read... I thought that it was a very realistic portrayal. In the end, some families will deal with it better and some worse, but this was an excellent story." — Absolute Forrest of Words
"Great story about family, survival, will power, courage... The characters are unique with their own voices and personalities and especially growth." — Book Addict
"This is quite an emotionally riveting debut novel and I have no doubt it will resonate deeply with readers.... Cancer is at the heart of this novel, it is the catalyst around which everything revolves, but it is not a book about cancer. It is a book about surviving. It is a book about family. It is a book about life and death, faith and hope. This is a wonderful book that readers of all ages will take to heart." — Bookfinds
"It's not an easy read at times but it's written very beautifully. I'm so glad that Gurtler's next book is in my TBR pile because after discovering her, I want to read more. HIGHLY recommended." — Books, Movies and Chinese Food
"...this book was very, very good. I think the Picoult comparision is apt in some respects, but I'm Not Her was definitely a better read." — CSI Librarian
"This is an excellent and realistic debut novel...Suffice it to say that Janet Gurtler has a talent for emotional, realistic fiction and I can't wait to read more." — Christi the Teen Librarian
"... well written, insightful and inspiring." — Deb's Book Bag
"...the first YA Contemp that really tugged at my heart in a very emotional and distinct way...breath-taking, inspiring and amazingly beautiful and heart-breaking and sad all at the same time....Gurtler's way of writing is distinct from other YA Contemps writer, I can't exactly describe it but hers felt more personal and so deep than the others..." — Girl About Books
"...a story that is nothing but completely real, giving you an honest look at the life of a teenage girl... [you] will find yourself inspired." — Girl's Life
"This book was beautiful - almost poetic in a way. I would definitely recommend it - especially to fans of Sarah Ockler and Gail Forman." — I Like These Books
"I'd also recommend this book to fans of Deb Caletti, Sarah Okler and Gayle Friessen (If I Stay). Tess is a strong, funny character who teens will related to and cheer for, just like the heroines in these other books. And voice? It's there...in spades." — Just Deb
"This book was amazing and I felt like I was in the book, living the story. This book was indescribable. It was so good! ...I would defiantly read this book again and again. :)" — Love Romance Passion
"There were several heart wrenching scenes and some that made me laugh. A good book will make you feel and this book certainly did that... an engaging read." — Once Upon A Chapter
"Cute and quirky, with sentimentality reminiscent of Judy Blume, this is a book for the keeper shelf — one that readers will devour again and again!" — RT Book Reviews
"...completely honest and realistic. The writing is crisp and the dialogue is authentic. The relationships are heartbreakingly truthful. This is a must read for teens and those of us who want to understand them." — Sacramento Book Review
"This book was more real and honest than most books I've ever read - and I don't just mean that there is a distinct lack of vampires. Janet Gurtler doesn't shy away from the truth; with such a heavy subject matter which most people would rather ignore, she remains honest and doesn't try and belittle her readers... Gurtler has written a beautiful, honest and unique book which more people need to hear about and read." — That Book Blog

"I devoured it...this story isn't about the girl in the spotlight. It's about the girl in the shadows, the one who's forced to find her way into the light to keep her family from totally self-desctructing. As much as it brought me to tears, I loved watching Tess struggle with her own questions, doubt, frustrations with her parents and their inability to accept and deal with this tragedy, the equal parts love/resentment/fear she feels toward her sister, and her tenuous but unwanted place in the spotlight at school. I'M NOT HER is, quite simply, a downright real story." — The Contemps

"The strength of sisterhood speaks volumes in I'm Not Her; Janet Gurtler has written a fantastic story about the bond between sisters... 'm Not Her is a great story about love, loss and the lengths one will go to when facing death." — The Page Turners

"Whew... so heartbreaking, but realistic. It was a beautifully written story... I felt so many emotions while reading, it was hard to keep track. One moment I was devastated for Kristina, the next moment I was in shock for Tess... then excited for Tess. Great characterization and just a great story." — The Story Siren
"...Gurtler has converted me into a contemporary reader. (I've just finished her second book, which I'll share with you shortly.) Any teen or adult who's dealt with illness of any kind will appreciate this book. Any teen or adult, who's had to grow up in a not-so-perfect world with a seemingly perfect sibling, relative, or friend shadowing their light, will enjoy this read." — Writers' Ally
"This is one gripping, heart felt story about sisters and the bond that holds them together... I highly recommend this book. Have a tissue box close at hand!" — YABooksCentral
"Brilliant. Best. Amazing... Gurtler weaves her own style into that of the lyrical paced story so that it's almost unnoticeable, but there. The writing was flawless, and the style was unique... HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! YOU MUST READ IT!" — pages
"I'm Not Her is Janet Gurtler's debut young adult book and she does many, many great things with this story...I cannot wait to read more from Janet Gurtler." — YA Librarian Tales
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:I'm Not Her
Your Rating
All content and design copyright © Sourcebooks, LLC 2022. All Rights Reserved.